McCammon Application

McCammon Voice Competition
The 16th Biennial McCammon Voice Competition will be held in Fort Worth on March 20-22, 2014. For more information about the Competition, including the online application, please visit the McCammon Voice Competition website at

Contest Eligibility:

The McCammon Voice Competition is open to an international pool of artists actively working toward a professional opera career. Artists must :
  • Be 21 to 35 years of age
  • Have not performed a contracted role with a Level 1 opera company*
  • Not be engaged as an artist in the 2014 Fort Worth Opera Festival
*Artists in a young artist/resident artist program at a Level 1 company are eligible to apply.

First Place: $15,000 and a role in a Fort Worth Opera production within two years, pending appropriate repertoire
Second Place: $7,500
Third Place: $5,000
Rick Berg Audience Favorite: $2,500
Milburn Encouragement Award, Male: $2,500
Encouragement Award, Female: $2,500

McCammon Voice Competition
In 1969, Marguerite McCammon was the recipient of a tribute from an aunt to a favorite niece when a permanent scholarship fund for worthy and gifted students of voice was established in her name. Mrs. McCammon served as president of The Opera Guild of Fort Worth in 1963 and 1964 and also served as a member of the Fort Worth Opera Association.

Established in and presented since 1969 by The Opera Guild of Fort Worth, Marguerite McCammon Voice Competition has grown steadily in prestige, scope, participants and prize money. In 1985, the Competition became a continuing and biennial event. Various fundraising activities and generous donations from opera lovers across the United States augment the annual fund monies allotted for the Competition.

Previous Winners
2012 Jan Cornelius, soprano
2010 Jonathan Beyer, baritone
2008 Angela Meade, soprano
2006 Michael Todd Simpson, baritone
2004 Marjorie Owens, soprano
2003 Eric Nelson Werner, baritone
2001 Jennifer Chung, lyric coloratura soprano
1999 Kyle Ketelsen, baritone
1997 Jonita Lattimore, soprano
1995 Frank Hernandez, baritone
1993 Vivica Genaux, mezzo soprano
1991 Kenn Woodward, baritone
1989 Jane Elizabeth Sleder, soprano
1987 Richard Paul Fink, baritone
1985 Margaret Jane Wray, soprano

Competition Questions, Information, Details
Marguerite McCammon Voice Competition
1300 Gendy Street
Fort Worth, Texas 76107
T 817.288-1212
F 817.731.0835